ALS Ice Bucket Challenge – my thoughts…

I know over the past week or so the internet and social media has been overtaken by the #ALSIceBucketChallenge. We’ve all seen the videos- and we’re all probably guilty of the same thoughts that I had which were “This is getting old and annoying” and “what’s the point of this anyways?”. I have to say I’m a little ashamed of myself for having those thoughts. I’ve done a lot of volunteer work with the American Cancer Society and other charitable groups to help raise not only money- but awareness- about diseases and issues affecting the world. I should have known better….

Yes. A lot of the videos being made are only being made for attention/to be funny. The maker of the video isn’t donating money at all….but even if a donation isn’t made- awareness is spreading. How many of you saw the hash tag and thought “What is ALS?’ and googled it? I imagine A LOT of people have. I was really only aware of what ALS was because baseball teams do a lot of fundraising and awareness nights for it- but until the videos started making their way around the internet, I didn’t understand the disease. That has changed tremendously.

Despite the ‘viral video’ nature of this movement- I know that a significant amount of money has been raised to help with the research of ALS. I, myself, donated this morning- after watching the video I’m about to post in this blog. I urge you to watch the video- and even if you don’t make your own video of ice water being poured over your head- consider donating if you have the money to spare….even if it’s just $5…

I think we as human beings should do what we can to help others in need.

Here’s the video that inspired me…and I won’t lie- it brought some tears to my eyes. It was posted by a guy who was recently diagnosed with ALS and it runs in his family. His mother and grandmother also have/had it. It’s very touching, very raw, and very “real” in the sense that it’s not all about the laughs…

Leave a Reply

