My Favorite Experience (a poem)

You’re my favorite experience.
Like a perfect song, Friday night football lights, or kiss swollen lips.
You’re my knight- in broken armor.
I’m an unsure Tennessee mess and I want no other.
You’re my foil.
The laughs to my moments of sap, the encouragement to my crime-
Even through misread meanings on a screen, faults and flaws, moody nights-
You’re the perfect word at the right time-
Every time-
I can exhale, relax, fall into exclamations and afterglow of “you are mine”.
And it’s all clear- this is good and you’re right.
Your heart is in my heart.
You’re my favorite experience.

Leave a Reply

